HomeNewsArticle Display

Team Buckley members nominated for prestigious award

Lance P. Sijan Award

Lance P. Sijan Award


Four members of Team Buckley have been nominated for the Lance P. Sijan Award which recognizes the accomplishments of Airmen who demonstrate the highest qualities of leadership in the performance of their duties and personal conduct. Only four members from the Air Force, one senior and one junior officer, as well as one senior and one junior enlisted, are selected as recipients of the award each year.

Staff Sgt. Ashley Arnold, 460th Civil Engineer Squadron operations engineer, Master Sgt. Amy Weatherston, 460th Security Forces Squadron plans and programs superintendent, 1st Lt. Chelsea Renfro, 460th Operations Group acting senior intelligence officer, and Maj. Ramsey Horn, 460th Operations Support Squadron operations officer, were all selected as nominees to receive the award.

The Lance P. Sijan Award was established in 1981 to honor Capt. Lance Peter Sijan, an Air Force Academy graduate who was shot down over Vietnam and evaded capture for 45 days despite severe injuries in 1967. He was later captured and died as a prisoner-of-war in Hoa Lo Prison, Hanoi, Vietnam. Sijan received the Medal of Honor for his heroic actions during the war.

The Lance P. Sijan Award has become one of the most prestigious awards given out in the Air Force. Recipients are entitled to wear the Air Force Recognition Ribbon.